Spread Your Internal Sunrise!

Out of an amazing 5 days in Northern Minnesota, one of my favorite memories is of unexpectedly waking early enough to see the sunrise over Lake Superior.  This statement is made with some serious competition!  I stayed with my crazy, beautiful, & hilarious family in a cabin overlooking breathtaking Lake Superior where we gorged ourselves with s’mores by a blazing fire late into the night, hiked into thick woods, dipped our feet in refreshingly COLD water beside a waterfall, watched zombie movies to prepare for the eventual apocalypse, & laughed until our belly’s ached. Yet, boasting my bed head like a cockatoo for the entire natural world (poor seagulls!) & cabin neighbors while dressed in my finest, dirty hiking boots & armed with a bowl full of my favorite cereal tops the list.  Hang with me here!  As I wobbled my way to the shore’s edge (waking up at 5 am is not my finest hour), I became little among an immense world of light, rock, & water.  I watched the sun slowly peak through the horizon, nibbling on my cereal & remembering Mary Oliver’s beautiful poem Sunrise.    
SUNRISE
You can
die for it~
an idea,
or the world.  People
have done so,
brilliantly,
letting their small bodies be bound
to the stake,
creating
an unforgettable
fury of light.  But
this morning,
climbing the familiar hills
in the familiar
fabric of dawn, I thought
of China,
and India
and Europe, and I thought
how the sun
blazes
for everyone just
so joyfully
as it rises
under the lashes
of my own eyes, and I thought
I am so many!
What is my name?
What is the name
of the deep breath I would take
over and over
for all of us? Call it
whatever you want, it is
happiness, it is another one
of the ways to enter
fire.
As the final stanzas slowly flowed over & over in my mind, I was reminded of the deep, soulful connection we share with a world much larger than our physcial selves.  I closed my eyes, envisioning a sun gently rising under each lid & couldn’t help but smile & release a long, dramatic sigh.  What if every time we breathed, whether in yoga class, at the office, or playing with our children, we remembered the imensity of our souls?  How deep & luscious would our breath be if we inhaled & exhaled to nourish the whole world?  How centered & peaceful we would feel if we remembered that we are enough because we are an eternal sunrise?  My hope for you, for all of us, is that we may indulge in at least one breath everyday for the whole world.  Breathing in gently, imagining that the expanse of your lungs goes outside the physical border of your body & breathing out softly, knowing that all is & will be well.  Go ahead, spread your internal sunrise.  I’ll meet you on the horizon!
Feeling Inspired? Express Yourself!

